India Assembly Poll Results 2018: Time for ruling BJP to analyse says Shiv Sena Spokesperson Sanjay Raut

“Time for us to Introspect”, says BJP alliance partner Shiv Sena spokesperson after the Assembly Poll Result trends 2018

Sanjay Raut, Shiv Sena spokesperson says time for the BJP and allies to introspect after the Assembly poll results show anti-incumbency at work.

As the results of the Assembly Polls 2018 from five states such as Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Mizoram are trickling, the Shiv Sena spokesperson and Rajya Sabha MP, Sanjay Raut had said without mincing words that it is time for the ruling BJP at Centre to analyse the governance with the results showing anti-incumbency factor is plaguing the BJP.

While quoting Raut, a PTI statement said that the trends mirrored that the BJP’s victory chariot has been halted. “This is a clear message and it is time for us to introspect”, Raut told the media in Parliament. Besides being a partner of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the BJP at the Centre, and also in Maharashtra, its ally, Shiv Sena has a love-hate relationship with the BJP. Although, the two political parties contested the Maharasthra Assembly polls in 2014 separately, nevertheless, the two parties forged alliance to form a government, headed by the BJP Chief Minister, Devendra Fadnavis.

India Assembly Polls 2018. Photo: EC.

The latest poll results trend clearly shows that the BJP is trailing in both Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh to the Congress, while the two parties are fighting neck and and neck in Madhya Pradesh. In Telangana, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), headed by KS Chandrasekar Rao is preparing to form the government for the second time, while in the northestern state of Mizoram, the Mizo National Front (MNF) has relegated the ruling Congress way behind in its tally of seats.

The latest tally is as follows: In MP, Congress is leading in 118 seats, BJP 103 and BSP 2. In Telangana the TRS is leading in 87 seats Congress 22 and BJP 1. In Rajasthan, Congress leads with 102 seats BJP 72, BSP 2. In Chhattisgargh Congress 64, BJP 17 and BSP 9. In Mizoram, MNF 26, Congress 5 and BJP 1.